West Papua

The indigenous peoples in West Papua suffer from human rights violations in the decades long lasting political and economical conflict there. West Papua refers to the western half of the New Guinea island. It is comprised of the six Indonesian provinces: Papua, Papua Barat, Papua Tengah, Papua Pegunungan, Papua Selatan, Papua Barat Daya.

Deteriorating health of detained KNPB member and activist in Sorong

On 22 November 2023, talks took place between the prosecutor’s office, and the family and the Coalition of Civil Pro-Democracy Movements in support of Urbanus Kamat, Secretary-General of the West Papua National Committee (KNPB) for the Maybrat region. Urbanus Kamat, who had been arrested in the Bamusbama District in June, was suffering from a deteriorating health condition while incarcerated in the city of Sorong.