West Papua

The indigenous peoples in West Papua suffer from human rights violations in the decades long lasting political and economical conflict there. West Papua refers to the western half of the New Guinea island. It is comprised of the six Indonesian provinces: Papua, Papua Barat, Papua Tengah, Papua Pegunungan, Papua Selatan, Papua Barat Daya.

Trial against KNPB leaders launched in Jayapura

On 23 November 2023, the trials against Mr Agus Kosay, chairman of the central West Papua National Committee (KNPB) with trial number 449/Pid.B/2023/PN Jap, and Mr Benius Murib with trial number 450/Pid.B/2023/PN Jap, secretary general of the KNPB Numbay were launched at the Jayapura District Court, Papua Province, with the announcement of the indictment.

Dispute over Highland Papua Governor’s Office site: Disagreement among indigenous tribes with some parties rejecting Komnas HAM findings

The National Human Rights Commission (Komnas HAM) took steps to address the ongoing dispute over the construction of the Office of the Governor of Highland  Papua Province in Wamena, Jayawijaya Regency. The conflict revolves around a 108-hectare area of customary land claimed by the Wouma, Welesi, and Asolokobal Tribe Alliance.

IDP’s humanitarian crisis in Papua: Catholic Church calls for immediate government action

The Secretariat of Justice and Peace (SKP in Indonesian) of the Catholic Church throughout Papua says 46,926 civilians were displaced from their villages due to armed conflict and urges the government to return the refugees to their hometowns. The urge was conveyed through the Pastoral Appeal of the SKP of the Catholic Church throughout Papua issued in Sorong, West Papua Province, on 12 October 2023.